活侯夫人简介


虽然作为澳洲赛马史上最成功练马师的女儿具有先天优势,但当活侯夫人决定追随其父亲的脚步开启练马师生涯时,巨大的期待和压力接踵而至。当活侯夫人于1992年取得练马师执照并接管图洛赫马房时,即使最乐观的分析人士也没预料到这位女练马师不仅超越了其父亲T.J史密斯的成就,并将其家族马场带上了自千年之交以来的最高高度。


第一匹参赛马匹、第一匹城市赛参赛马匹、第一匹一级赛参赛马匹、第一匹障碍赛参赛马匹均首战取胜,考虑到活侯夫人1992年1月前跟随其父T.J 史密斯长达12年的实习生涯,这位女练马师的迅速成功便不足为奇。自1992年1月以独立练马师的身份平凡起步以来,活侯夫人已在赛马上取得了巨大成就。虽然大多数人在取得这样的成功后会功成身退,但活侯夫人对胜利的渴望却从未停歇。马主们深知这位女练马师对胜利的渴望与自己一样强烈,可以放心地把马儿交给她。仅在获得练马师执照的15年后 (2007年) ,活侯夫人便被引入“澳大利亚赛马名人堂” (Australian Racing Hall of Fame) ;在职业生涯的第20个年头,活侯夫人已取得超过120场一级赛冠军,现名列澳大利亚一级赛冠军练马师排名榜第三,仅次于其父T.J史密斯和传奇练马师巴特·康明 (Bart Cummings) ,活侯夫人对卓越的追求由此可见一斑。

墨尔本和悉尼最高水准的赛事是活侯夫人所取得成就的最好证明。活侯夫人曾分别6次和7次赢得悉尼最高水准赛事金拖鞋大赛和唐凯思特让磅赛冠军。从另一个角度来看,其父T.J 史密斯在执掌图洛赫的50年间共训练出6名金拖鞋大赛冠军,而活侯夫人凭借2015年爱驹【温哥华】在金拖鞋大赛中的胜利追平了由其父创造的纪录。在第7次问鼎唐凯思特让磅赛冠军后,活侯夫人与其父并列成为历史上在该赛事上取得最好成绩的练马师。从1994-1997年活侯夫人传奇性地连续四年蝉联唐凯思特让磅赛冠军,在1998年第五年参加该赛事时,活侯夫人虽与冠军失之交臂,却将该场比赛的亚军和季军收入囊中。

著名的悉尼秋季赛季结束后,活侯夫人在悉尼的成功却未停下脚步。活侯夫人是至今悉尼春季赛季最成功的练马师。她经常说”趁晴晒草”,这一态度在活侯夫人在悉尼春季嘉年华期间所赢得的最高水准赛事中体现得淋漓极致。飞行锦标赛 (Flight Stakes) (7次冠军)、叶森让磅赛 (Epsom Handicap) (7次冠军)和大都会让磅赛 (Metropolitan Handicap) (8次冠军)都是活侯夫人每年必参加的比赛。

2013年11月的第一个星期四,活侯夫人麾下的【繁花似锦】在于上一年跑进墨尔本杯前三后,一举获得该赛事的冠军。在【繁花似锦】之前只有3匹公马取得了这一成就,其中两匹是伟大的赛马【卡宾】和【法雅纳】。活侯夫人在【繁花似锦】上将其练马技巧展现得淋漓尽致,并真正地在国际舞台上展现了其才华。【繁花似锦】在2012年墨尔本杯前3周转入活侯夫人马房,在仅仅3周时间内,活侯夫人成功地调整了该赛驹的训练计划,将其调整到最佳状态,赢得了墨尔本杯这场”让全国屏息凝视”赛事的亚军。2013年春季,活侯夫人为【繁花似锦】注入了更多速度,这一点从该现役种公马在Feehan锦标赛平磅赛中的胜利便可见一斑,50天后【繁花似锦】便在活侯夫人的引导下一举拿下墨尔本杯冠军。能在7周的时间里训练出一匹同时赢得1600米平磅赛和3200米让磅赛的马匹确实是一项非凡的成就。【繁花似锦】在墨尔本杯后的秋季赛季下一战接连取得胜利,在他之前能取得此成就的只有【圣驹】(Saintly),在此后下一战的2000米澳大利亚杯 (Australian Cup)让磅赛中【繁花似锦】再次取胜!

活侯夫人给马房的每一匹马尽可能多的机会取胜,她每年视察成千上百匹周岁马,注重细节的态度无人能及。活侯夫人购买周岁马精挑细选,会在拍卖会前在农场看一遍,在拍卖会再看一遍,如果这匹马符合她的所有标准,她才会在拍卖会上竞标,将周岁马精心培育,日后取得辉煌。悉尼赛马史上只有6匹马能够取得两岁马三冠王的成就,而从活侯夫人马房走出的便有两匹:2004年的【舞动英雄】和2012年的【皮耶罗】。活侯夫人是赢得两岁马一级赛最多的练马师。

随着澳洲赛马产业的不断进步,越来越多的人将目光转向了北半球,以期寻得长途马,而活侯夫人正处于该趋势的中心。她已经并将继续从欧洲购买长途马,90%她从欧洲购得的马匹都已在澳洲赛场获得冠军。他们中的一些接连获得多场比赛冠军,甚至一级经典赛冠军,【繁花似锦】(Fiorente)、【金液名釀】(Glencadam Gold)和【特价优惠】(The offer)是最好的证明。随着每年越来越多的欧洲马进口至澳大利亚,活侯夫人在如何训练这些马匹方面已取得立足点。在图洛赫马房,很少有欧洲进口马在到达之后表现欠佳。这也是活侯夫人耐心、细心照料和卓越的最佳体现。

活侯夫人训练各种类型的马,包括两岁马、三岁马、成熟马、公马、骟马、小母马或成熟母马等,其一级赛冠军涉及各年龄段和性别的马匹。活侯夫人训马技巧的核心是她能让马匹获胜,并在职业生涯早期展现其高水准。她会将马匹置于其最有可能赢得处女赛的地方出赛。如果一匹马没有展现出能在职业生涯早期获得冠军的潜力,活侯夫人会更加努力,让马匹进步到能为马主们赢得冠军的水准。

“平衡”和“动力”是活侯夫人描述其训练风格时最常用的词语。她希望看到一匹马具有完美的平衡性,因为无论对人类还是马匹冠军运动员来说绝佳的平衡性都至关重要。根据活侯夫人的哲学,如果一匹马能够在一场比赛自始至终都保持动力,那么他在需要尽全力时会更有平衡性、动力十足。在赛场上一旦被停止,一匹马很难再发挥其最佳水平。在获得了几千场比赛冠军、上亿美元锦标赛冠军奖金、在世界各地赢得多场一级赛冠军、近30匹由她训练的马匹退役至澳亚地区的种马场后,活侯夫人的哲学和对成功的不懈追求已为世界各地上千的马主带来了回报。活侯夫人是澳洲“现象级”人物,其成就验证了远见、良好的规划、勤勉的工作、充沛的精力和坚持的巨大力量。


      

Connect

Gai's Bio


Being born the daughter of the most successful horse trainer in the history of Australian racing certainly comes with its benefits. However when the daughter decides to follow in her father’s footsteps, massive expectation and pressure soon follows. When Gai finally was granted her trainers’ licence and took control of Tulloch Lodge in 1992, not even the most optimistic of pundits could have predicted that not only would Gai emulate her famous father T.J. Smith but in fact would go on to steer the stable to the dizzy heights Tulloch Lodge has enjoyed since the turn of the millennium.




Gai’s first runner in a race won. Her first runner in a metropolitan race won. Her first runner in a Group One race won. Her first runner in a jumps race won. Considering the education Gai received during her 12 year apprentice with T.J. leading up to January 1992, it is little wonder the Lady Trainer was an instant success. Since her humble beginnings as a solo trainer in January 1992, Gai has gone on to achieve as much as humanly possible with racehorses. While many would rest on their laurels after such success, Gai simply wants to win more and more. Owners can rest assured that the Lady Trainer wants to win races just as much if not more than they do! Confirmation of this dedication to excellence came after just fifteen years of training when Gai was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame (2007). As we stand, in just over 20 years of training, Gai has amassed over 120 Group One wins and currently sits third on the all-time list (Group One winners) behind T.J. Smith and Bart Cummings.

By far Gai’s greatest achievements have been recorded in the best races of the year in both Melbourne and Sydney. Gai has won Sydney’s two best races, the Golden Slipper and Doncaster Handicap six and seven times respectively. To put this in perspective, in T.J.’s fifty years at the helm of Tulloch Lodge, the great man trained six Slipper wins. Gai, having won the 2015 Golden Slipper with Vancouver, is now on par with her great father with six Slipper wins. In winning seven Doncaster Handicaps, Gai is the equal greatest trainer in the history on the race currently tied with T.J. Included in Gai’s seven Doncaster wins, was her legendary ‘four-peat’ from 1994 to 1997. When going for five Doncaster Handicaps in a row in 1998, Gai, while being beaten, still managed to train the second and third placegetters.

Gai’s prowess in Sydney does not stop after the famous Sydney autumn. Gai is by far the most successful trainer ever in the Sydney Spring. ‘Make hay while the sun shines’ is a phrase one often can hear Gai quoting. This attitude is reflected by Gai’s results in the best races contested during the Sydney Spring Carnival. The Flight Stakes (7 wins), the Epsom Handicap (7 wins) and the Metropolitan Handicap (8 wins) have become races at the mercy of Gai each and every year.


On the first Tuesday of November 2013, Gai managed to train the great entire Fiorente to do something that only three male horses before him had done in winning the Melbourne Cup after placing in the great race the previous year. Two of the three horses to achieve this feat before Fiorente were all-time immortal champions Carbine and Phar Lap. With Fiorente, Gai showed exactly what she could do with a horse thus demonstrating her brilliance on a truly international stage. After just three weeks with Fiorente before the 2012 Melbourne Cup, Gai managed to change up Fiorente’s work and get him in a head space where he was able to run a blistering second in the race that stops a nation. Come the spring of 2013, Gai had trained plenty more speed into Fiorente as was evident when the stallion won the 1600m WFA Feehan Stakes. Fiorente under Gai’s guidance then won the Melbourne Cup just fifty days later. To train a horse to win a 1600m WFA race and a 3200m handicap race in the space of seven weeks is a truly remarkable feat. In a further display of brilliance, Gai again produced Fiorente during the following autumn to win first up (first Melbourne Cup winner to win first up at their next preparation since Saintly) before the stallion won the 2000m WFA Australian Cup second up.

Gai gives each and every horse that comes into her care every possible chance to succeed. Gai’s attention to detail in regards to inspecting hundreds and hundreds of yearling every year is second to none. Gai sees a yearling early, sees it again at the sales, and should this particular yearling tick enough boxes, Gai will bid for it, before setting it towards greatness. Only six horses in the history of Sydney racing have won the two-year-old Triple Crown and Gai has trained two of them (Dance Hero 2004 and Pierro 2012). Gai in fact has won more Group One races for two-year-olds than any other trainer.


As Australian racing progresses and eyes are turned to the northern hemisphere to find stayers, Gai again finds herself at the forefront of the movement. Gai has purchased and continues to purchase many stayers from Europe. Over 90% of Gai’s European purchases have won in Australia already. In some cases they have won multiple races and even Group One Classics as is the case with Fiorente, Glencadam Gold and The Offer. With more and more European imports arriving in Australia each and every year, Gai has a foothold on how to train these horses. There has barely been an import lob at Tulloch Lodge that has not run well since arriving. This is a perfect demonstration of the patience, care and brilliance that one thinks of in regards to Gai Waterhouse.

Whether it is two-year-olds, three-year-olds, mature horses, colts, geldings, entires, fillies or mares, Gai can train them all. The Lady Trainer has won dozens of Group One races for all ages and sexes. However the absolute mainstay of Gai’s training method is her ability to get horses to win and to show their best very early in their careers’. Gai will travel a horse to where it needs to go as to win its maiden. If a horse demonstrates early that it is not going to be a champion, then Gai simply works harder to get the horse to improve to a level where it can win for its connections.

‘Balance’ and ‘momentum’ are Gai’s go-to words when asked to describe her training style. Gai wants a horse with perfect balance as she understands that all champion athletes both human and equine possess stunning balance. Momentum because Gai’s philosophy dictates that if a horse maintains its momentum throughout a race, then it will be more balanced and have a full head of steam when asked for the ultimate effort; horses rarely produce their best once they have been stopped in their tracks. After thousands of wins, hundreds of millions of dollars in Stakes money, Group One wins all over the continent and close to 30 horses from her care going to stud in Australasia, Gai’s philosophy and her striving for success have paid off for thousands of connections worldwide. Gai is a phenomenon, an Australian icon, and her achievements are a testimony to what vision, planning, hard work, energy and dedication can produce.

      

Connect